More of Everything, Please

Be Satisfied, Get More

6 Alternate Meanings Hidden in Songs

Everyone hears odd things in songs.  An example would be the guy who first thought up the idea that “Mr. Jones” by Counting Crows was about the lead singer’s penis.  My brain has devised its own meanings behind numerous songs.  Obviously I’m really odd, so I doubt many others have ever conjured this meanings.  I would like to clarify that in no way are these the actual meanings of the songs, it is simply what my brain thinks when I hear them.  Please don’t tweet at the artist and ask if this is what they really mean because there is no way it is…Anyways, I hope you enjoy!

#6 Young  the Giant’s “My Body” is about a raging sex addict talking in therapy:

I have a feeling of all the songs on this list, this one is by far the most agreed with.  The verses are the man telling a story of a girl he knew back the day who he had sexual intercourse with.  This moment in history is when the man first became the sexual fiend he is now.  In other words, “Stop, the train is riding down to the station where you lived when we were school kids”.  The station is the girl and the train is the singer’s wiener.  When he sings, “Hey, the rails are caught now” he’s saying that he cannot stop from having sex now.  Then as if I needed more fuel, there is the refrain which literally just proves my point.  Here are the lyrics: “My body tells me ‘no’, but I won’t quit.  ‘Cause I want more.”  Then he hits the bridge which simply goes, “It’s my war, it’s my war”.  I mean there it is, right in front of you and you might have never noticed.

#5 “You’re Gonna Go Far Kid” by the Offspring is about Sylar from Heroes:

I know what you’re thinking “probably not, bro”, but if you listen to the lyrics there are unmistakeable similarities between the badass antagonist from the world’s greatest TV show.  I mean listen to the lyrics in the verse, “Now, dance fucker, dance.  Man, he never had a chance.  And no one even new it was really only you.  Now you steal away…take him out today…nice work you did…you’re gonna go far kid!”  Literally Sylar is all about using his power of telekinesis to freeze people.  He can turn them into little puppets as they cannot resist his might.  He usually tricks people into trusting him, not letting them know he’s this rampaging psycho serial killer set on murdering them.  Then he steals the person’s power who is completely hopeless against his strength.  Sylar is literally bound to be the strongest human being on the planet.  That pretty much covers every single line of that portion of the song.  Continue?  “With a thousand lies and a good disguise; hit ’em right between the eyes, hit ’em right between the eyes.  When you walk away, nothing more to say, see the lighting in your eyes; see ’em running for their lives.”  Sylar uses disguises and aliases in order to garner powers.  Also he kills people by slicing open their foreheads, pretty much between the eyes.  I mean he’s a killer…”see ’em running for their lives?”  It’s perfect.  Clearly this song was made for Sylar.  Ironically it was released in 2008, which was just enough time for The Offspring to write a song about Sylar after Heroes was released in late 2006.

#4 Passion Pit’s “Sleepyhead” is about a man having non-consensual sex with a women (he’s a rapist):

This meaning never really hit me until I learned what was said in the song.  The lyrics are nearly incomprehensible, but the song does sound creepy enough to be an anthem about a rapist.  I mean the first verse starts, “And you said ‘It was like fire around the brim.  Burning solid, burning thin the burning rim'”  which sounds to me like a girl describing the feeling of the man’s coitus beginning.  The verse then ends, “You were one inch from the edge of this bed.  I drag you back a sleepyhead, sleepyhead.”  Is that not a girl trying to escape a painful situation only to find her assailant is not actually asleep and was playing possum.  Now he’s angry she tried to escape and drugged her so that she doesn’t get away from him and he can continue to be a disgusting freak and what not…am I really the only one seeing this?  Goddamn.

#3 “Homeboy” by Eric Church is the speaker talking to his adopted black little brother:

Now obviously Eric Church is a southerner (because he sings country music, right?…oh and because Wikipedia says so!) so he obviously has no problem referring to an African American as “boy”.  Also, because he’s southern, we can assume he has racial stereotypes against African-Americans.  So obviously the entire song is about Eric Church singing to this African-American that was adopted by his family and now Church feels he has fallen into all the stereotypes he has for African-Americans.  I mean the first verse goes, “You were too bad for a little square town with your hip hop hat and your pants on the ground.  Heard you cussed out mama, pushed daddy around and you tore off in his car.  Here you are runnin’ these dirty old streets, tattoo on your neck, fake gold on your teeth.  Got the hood here snowed but you can’t fool me; we both know who you are.”  Clearly there are some negative stereotypes in there.  Damn southerners!  It is over a century since the Civil War and decades since the Civil Rights Movement and still negative stereotypes about African-Americans remain.  It’s sad.  I mean in the second verse too where E.C. says the little guy is going to jail?  Sheesh!

#2 Owl City’s only song “Fireflies” is about a suicidal homosexual in a homosexual club:

This was the first image on Google search…seriously

Think I’m stretching things?  Just wait for this explanation, it’s golden.  Now, homosexuals are commonly referred to as flamers, right?  So fireflies, flamers?  Pretty close and pretty sneaky, Owl City guy.  Now, the first verse is where I get the strip club idea.  I mean listen to the words, “You would not believe your eyes if ten million fireflies lit up the world as I fell asleep.  ‘Cause they’d fill the open air and leave teardrops everywhere.  You’d think me rude, but I would just stand and stare.”  He’s watching the dancers.  Okay, you got that?  Then there’s the refrain: “I’d like to make myself believe that planet Earth turns slowly.  It’s hard to say that I’d rather stay awake when I’m asleep.  ‘Cause everything is never as it seems.”  This is the suicidal portion.  The first part is him saying he wishes the world did not treat homosexuals so poorly.  Next, the singer is thinking how he hates life and cannot even wish he was still alive.  He just wishes he could stay asleep forever.  There are a bunch more references which are kind of questionable in this song.  Including him asking to leave the door open just a crack…like coming out of the closet (or jumping back in?).  Anyway, let’s move on.

#1 “Winter Winds” by Mumford & Son is about a guy’s “hook-up” with a girl:

Mumford & Sons is a British folk group.  They could never sing about something vulgar!  Well I vehemently disagree guy who still high-fives.  (that probably landed poorly).  As is par for this article, I have lyrics to back me up.  “As the winter winds litter London with lonely hearts, oh the warmth in your eyes swept me into your arms.  Was it love or fear of the cold that led us through the night?  For every kiss, your beauty trumped my doubt.”  You might not see it, but clearly this describes a hook-up.  Now, it could be taken for a man and woman actually falling in love, but the refrain does a little bashing at this idea when he sings, “And my head told my heart ‘let love grow’…but my heart told my head, ‘this time no, this time no'”.  I mean anytime two people hook-up, there is this little spark which flares up between them and your head just wants to see them (hook-up with them really) on a regular basis.  The heart, however, knows the real story.  If you still aren’t sold, patience.  Verse 2: “We’ll be washed and buried one day, my girl.  The flesh that lived and loved will be eaten by plague.  So let the memories be good for those who stay”.  The guy is basically screaming, “YOLO, dude!  Let’s go!”.  Verse 3 I think seals the deal for me: “Oh the shame that sent me off from the God that I once loved was the same that sent me into your arms.  Oh and pestilence is won when you are lost and I am gone and no hope, no hope will overcome.  And if your strife strikes at your sleep, remember spring swaps snow for leaves.  You’ll be happy and wholesome again.  When the city clears and sun ascends.”  The man is telling the crowd that he had lost all self-respect and needed someone to comfort him so he found this girl.  He’s telling her that even though he’s leaving her, that soon her life will turn for the better and she’ll leave behind this one night stand and find true love with someone.  When this is all gone, life will be better.

So there they are, six completely undignified and completely concocted meanings of songs that my brain discovered in its delirium of everyday life.  I hope you enjoyed reading it!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

