More of Everything, Please

Be Satisfied, Get More

6 Alternative Meanings Hidden in Songs (Part 2)

More weird song meanings?  I mean I guess when you listen to music enough it happens.  People who obsess over music probably have hundreds of these bad boys, so obviously I should be able to come up with 12.  The fact of the matter is this can potentially ruin a good song, so approach with strong hearts and remember these aren’t the actual meanings of the songs.  These are simply meanings my brain picks up on as these songs hit the cerebellum.  Enjoy how interesting and thought-provoking the article is and not so much the sometimes dark subject matter.

#6 “Vertigo” by U2 is Bono talking to his LSD:

The proof is in the lyrics people.  Many people complained about U2 when this song was released about how they were missing depth in this song, but they were looking in the wrong direction.  Instead of going deeper, they need only go higher!  To start, the word vertigo itself refers to a person feeling dizzy or feeling movement of the room around them despite being stationary…good start.  The verses have some good material, but we’ll skip verse one and move right into the chorus so I can show you where I’m coming from on this one.  The chorus begins, “Hello, Hello!  I’m at a place called vertigo”.  In other words, Bono is trippy as f**k.  “It’s everything I wish I didn’t know.  Except you give me something I can feel.  I can feel…feel!”  Here Bono is thanking the drug for altering his paradigm of the world as he now sees it differently from before and it is due to this sensation produced by taking the LSD.  Verse 2 gives us a little iota of the same story as Bono begins having these ridiculous hallucinations including the sky ripping open (“the night is full of holes”) and all the other jazz.  Back to the refrain.  The little bridge which goes, “All of this, all of this can be yours.  All of this, all of this can be yours.  All of this, all of this can be yours.  Just give me what I want and no one gets hurt” can be taken two ways: 1) Bono is so far gone he’s now threatening the drug because he wants to be even further gone or more likely 2) he is offering cash to the guy who sells him the drugs because he loves the feeling the little bastard provides him so much that he cannot handle life without it…back to the chorus before finally we come to the end where Bono is again thanking the LSD for the feelings it provides and the way it opens his eyes to the world.  There is an in-depth explanation of why “Vertigo” is actually about Bono and LSD.

#5 “Losing A Whole Year” by Third Eye Blind is a reference to The Great Gatsby

Just to give a little credibility to this theory right off the bat, Stephan Jenkins (the band’s lead singer) was an English major!  Obviously The Great Gatsby is a novel written by F. Scott Fitzgerald (respect) and is widely considered one of the greatest works of 20th century American literature.  The name of the song again reinforces the argument.  Losing a whole year could be a reference to the time Gatsby feels he lost in his life when he and Daisy Buchanan were away from each other (to quote Disney’s Robin Hood, “Absence makes the heart grow fonder”).   Perusing over the song’s lyrics, one can find little reference to the novel.  One of the best examples are the lines, “Your voice sound like money and your face is cute, but your daddy left you with no love.  You touch everything with a velvet glove and   Now you want to try a life of sin: you want to be down with the down and in.”  In the novel, Fitzgerald wrote: “”Her voice is full of money,” he said suddenly.” (Chapter 7).  The novel also describes how Daisy begins an affair with Gatsby.  This fulfills the “Now you want to try a life of sin: you want to be down with the down and in” lyric.  Continuing forward in the song, “I took your stuff and put it in the basement, when I found out what the smile on your face meant”.  These words speak to Gatsby holding tight to his former days with Daisy before the long hiatus in their relationship.  He kept his feelings stored…like in a basement…when he found that Daisy too had loved him.  Moving onward: “Craning your neck at my car wreck and it always seems the juice used to flow” could refer to the tragic accident in the novel when Daisy absolutely obliterates Myrtle Wilson in Gatsby’s aesthetic white car…juices flowing is Myrtle’s blood and whatnot on the pavement.  I hope you may too see the reasoning behind these thoughts for this song…nonetheless we still have 6 more to go!

#4 “New Perspective” by Panic! At The Disco is about wanting to give oral sex rather than receive it:

I know you all are just seething at me to give you my lyrical explanation and fret not for this song needs little introduction!  Here is the first verse, bridge, and refrain to the song: “I feel the salty waves come in, I feel them crash against my skin.  And I smile as I respire because I know they’ll never win.  There’s a haze above my TV that changes everything I see.  And maybe if I continue watching, I’ll lose the traits that worry me…Can we fast-forward till you go down on me?  Stop there and let me correct it, I wanna live a life from a new perspective.  You come along because I love your face and I’ll admire your expensive taste.  And who cares divine intervention?  I wanna be praised from a new perspective.  But leaving now would be a good idea, so catch me up on getting out of here.”  The song begins with a man feeling a certain wetness…probably on his fingers.  Anyway he wants to skip to the blowjob, but decides to change his mind quickly and decides, “maybe this time I’ll eat her out this time!”  You getting this gold?  Also, the part where he wishes to be praised from a new perspective is obviously him reporting he wants to be thanked for going down.  The second part of the second verse reads, “And I would wait and watch the hours fall in a hundred separate lines, but I regain repose and wonder how I ended up inside”.  The singer is clearly lost at how he is once again the one receiving rather than giving the oral pleasure…this is erotic.  The final (and probably most graphic lyrics) is the following from the third verse: “Other plans fell through and put a heavy load on you”.  The lyrics refers to previous times the main character had fiddled with the idea of partaking in giving oral sex rather than being on the receiving end; however, each time he failed to follow through with his ploy and ended up putting a heavy load on the woman figure to which he is speaking…a heavy load.  Anyway let’s please move onto something that isn’t quite as awkward to describe.  This portion of the post was bordering on erotica and that’s not what this blog is about!!

 

#3 “Home” by Phillip Phillips is about Stockholm syndrome

So of you may be blissfully unaware of what Stockholm syndrome is.  Would it aid you if I reported Belle from Beauty and the Beast suffered from this mental illness?  Stockholm syndrome is when someone who is kidnapped begins to fall in love (or at least begin to befriend) his or her kidnapper.  Here’s the Wikipedia link if you feel like investigating this interesting disease further: Here.  This song has so little lyrics that I’m afraid I may not be able to keep this up long, so I’l have to be long winded in my explanations!  In this song, former American Idol champion (or so I’ve been told) Phillips is singing to someone he kidnapped: “Hold on, to me as we go.  As we roll down this unfamiliar road.  And although this wave is stringing us along, just know you’re not alone, ’cause I’m going to make this place your home”.  Phillips is telling his victim not to worry because he is going to make everything alright.  This place he/she has no familiarity with will soon become the very place he or she desires most to be: home.  Phillip continues with the verse: “Settle down, it’ll all be clear!  Don’t pay no mind to the demons, they fill you with fear!  The trouble it might drag you down!  If you get lost, you can always be found!  Just know you’re not alone, ’cause I’m gonna make this place your home!”  Phillips mentions demons…or perhaps the feelings of pain and agony which would probably saturate the mind of someone who has been kidnapped.  He attempts to continue to convince the victim this new perspective will be one which he/she will surely find appealing and homely in the future.  He promises he will be here for him/her even if they start to feel sick for their former residence and soon this new place will completely eradicate any of that nostalgia.  The rest of the anthem is just “oooh’s”, “ahhh’s”, and a repeat of the refrain.  All the evidence is found in the single verse and refrain it doesn’t look good for Phillip.  He is clearly a kidnapper and is forcing the victim toward feeling of Stockholm syndrome…Phillips is evil!

#2 “Good Time” by Alan Jackson is about getting a hooker:

Alan Jackson seems like a stand-up individual; and a true American (despite his kinda creepy mustache), but this is the most obvious of the songs on this list of having the meaning my brain reveals.  Let’s begin with the first verse: “Work, work all week long, punchin’ that clock from dusk till dawn.  Countin’ the days till Friday night, that’s when all the conditions are right.  For a good time…I need a good time”.  Jackson is just letting us know he prefers to wait until the weekend to involve himself in prostitution…not as a prostitute I mind you.  Jackson’s “good time” is the sex he will have with said prostitute.  The refrain goes as follows: “Yea, I’ve been workin’ all week, and I’m tired, but I don’t wanna sleep.  I wanna have fun.  It’s time for a good time”.  Just letting us know he prefers intercourse to REM sleep to recover from a tough work week.  The second verse is a little less vague than the first: “I cashed my check, cleaned my truck, put on my hat, forgot about work. Sun goin’ down, head across town, pick up my baby, and turn it around…Good time”.  It’s funny how he just mutters “Good time” at the end as if he is incessantly reminding us of the intercourse he is having.  Anyway, Jackson makes no secrets.  Using the words, “pick up my baby and turn it around” is a dead giveaway.  Turning it around means he’s flying back to his place with his “baby”…Good time.  Next, verse three gives us a little insight to Jackson’s “good time”: “Pig in the ground, beer on ice, just like ole Hank taught us about.  Singin’ along, Bocephus songs, rowdy friends all night long…Good time.  Lord, we’re having a good time”.  The pig in the ground…yucky.  “Rowdy friends all night long” is the key phrase here because it shows he kept at it all which is impressive stamina for someone of Jackson’s age…Good time.  The next few lines I wish to draw your attention to include “Heel toe dosey doe”,  “Scootin’ our boots”, “swingin’ doors”, “B & D Kix”, and” done”.  Clearly these are rowdy cowby sex positions and finally he’s just done…Good time.  Finally, there is the line “Sweet southern woman set on my lap”.  That’s just too easy, Alan.  This song is so much about Alan Jackson’s hooker that I’m finding Alan as a person a little bit less respectable…but then I listen to “Where were you when the world stopped turning?” and I’m a fan of his again!!! Good time.

#1 “Lights” by Ellie Goulding is about a kidnapped girl:

Big kidnapping theme in this article…okay well 2 out of 6, but that’s like about 33.33% right?  I really don’t want anyone who feels this may ruin this song to read on because honestly this song is awesome.  I love it and it gets me more pumped than “Lose Yourself” by Eminem.  We’ll start the decimation of this beautiful song with the first verse, as is par for the course: “I had a way then losing it all on my own.  I had a heart then but the queen has been overthrown.  And I’m not sleeping now the dark is too hard to beat.  And I’m not keeping up the strength I need to push me”.  This describes Ellie now having lost her prior feelings of strength she had in life.  She feels defeated by her current situation (which for the sake of my argument is she is locked in a cellar).  She is no longer the queen as someone else has committed regicide and taken over (the kidnapper).  We’ll follow this up with the refrain: “You show the lights that stop me, turn to stone.  You shine it when I’m alone.  And so I tell myself that I am strong and dreaming when they’re gone.  Cause they’re calling, calling, calling me home.  Calling, calling, calling home!  You show the lights that stop me, turn to stone.  You shine it when I’m alone”.  Ellie is trapped in this cellar and only sees the light when her kidnapper opens the door to provide food and other necessities to her.  This light frightens Ellie as she is unsure what may happen whenever the bastard appears.  Also, the light gives her a sense of the outside world and offers a little hope that there is still light out there and someday she may be able to get out of the doldrums and return to her home…but as Bane said in the Dark Knight Rises, hope can make an experience even worse.  The second verse brings home the motif: “Noises, I play within my head.  Touch my own skin and hope that I’m still breathing.  And I think back to when my brother and my sister slept.  In an unlocked place the only time I feel safe”.  Here is why I feel the cellar situation is necessary.  Ellie is obviously going insane as any person may in such a horrid situation, but is always attempting to keep her mind and realize she still has a chance so long as she is living of breaking free from this pure hell.  She thinks back to home and where her brother and sister sleep; a place which isn’t a locked cellar.  It is in her mind, thinking of home, when Ellie feels away from the cellar and safe from the man above.  The song then returns to the verse as the man again opens the cellar door and offers  the light which continues to provide Ellie with this sense of hope of reclaiming her life and returning home.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “6 Alternative Meanings Hidden in Songs (Part 2)

  1. Not a fan….does not seem to be Mom appropriate, but I do like that you are writing to the world. Please continue.
    Mommers

Leave a Reply

